Róise Ní Bhaoill

Imram agus scéalta eile

A collection of short stories by Róise Ní Bhaoill

A collection of short stories by Róise Ní Bhaoill.

In these stories we are taken on journeys, journeys of the mind, to human places, to countries that are stifled by conflict and change, but they are all journeys to the heart of humanity, with people seeking a new life of hope or with people who have to act against their will.
In a world where human movement often represents inequality, humanity is seen in its survival in these stories. Told in a measured voice, the Rann na Feirste literary story telling style can be clearly seen in these stories.

Weight.14 kg
Dimensions197 × 130 × 11 mm

Another very strong collection of short stories from Éabhlóid, full of humanity and moments of hope and grief. We are brought on journeys with a very varied group of characters, each one more engaging than the last; we're emersed in their experiences and an uncommon empathy is aroused in the reader. What more do we need from a book of fiction?

Imram is an excellent collection of well written short stories and a pleasure from start to finish. We meet people who have to find a way of dealing with the pressures their lives have put them under. The places, people and predicaments are very different but Róise Ní Bhaoill displays impressive human understanding and sympathy in each and every one.

Tugtar ar thurais muid sna scéalta seo, turais intinne, turais go críocha aduaine, turais go tíortha atá stollta ag an choimhlint agus ag an athrach; ach is turais go croí na daonnachta iad go léir, le daoine atá ag cuartú saol dóchasach úr nó le daoine a bhfuil orthu gníomhú in aghaidh a dtola....Inste i nguth tomhaiste deisbhéalach, tá scéalaíocht Rann na Feirste i stíl liteartha chomhaimseartha an lae inniu le sonrú go soiléir sna scéalta seo.

Éabhlóid also gave us Imram agus scéalta eile, the first collection of short stories by Róise Ní Bhaoil from Rann na Feirste in the Donegal Gaeltacht, a work that won the An Post Irish language Book of the Year award.